REVIEWS
DAYBREAKpromo

Daybreak

This updated version of the Fort Thunder alumnus’s zombie story is an immensely thoughtful, carefully constructed, and ultimately troubling comic. Continue reading

 
320

The Collected John G. Miller: 1990-1999

His work is in the tradition of Fletcher Hanks and Rory Hayes, but I’ve never encountered a personality quite like Miller’s in all my years of reading comics. Continue reading

 
prison

Prison Pit: Book Three

Does Ryan attempt to top a protracted sequence graphically detailing the rape of a semi-anthropomorphized female pterodactyl? Continue reading

 
ware_ipad

Touch Sensitive

Chris Ware goes digital? Continue reading

 
anyempirefeatured

Any Empire

Nate Powell’s second graphic novel is about youth and war and violence, played out in a small town somewhere in the American South. Continue reading

 
league1969cover

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century: 1969

This is one of two comics to come out this year whose climactic oomph relies on an image of (let’s be up front about this) John Constantine. Continue reading

 
LittleNothings

Little Nothings, Vol. 4: My Shadow In The Distance

Originally drawn in 2009, the fourth translated volume of Lewis Trondheim’s Little Nothings diary strip now pushes the series up near the 500-page mark. It’s simultaneously Trondheim’s most disposable work and some of his best. Entirely free of genre and … Continue reading

 
liars_kiss

Liar’s Kiss

The story of Liar’s Kiss is formulaic and ultimately forgettable, but it shows the strengths as well as the weaknesses of its genre. Continue reading